A teacher working with elementary students who are using iPads

Certificate in Catholic School Administration

This 11-month certificate program*, offered by LMU's Department of Educational Leadership and the Center for Catholic Education (CCE), provides professional development specific to Catholic school leadership. The four-course program of study (10 graduate-level units) is uniquely designed to address four major themes in Catholic school administration: mission-focused leadership; faith and spiritual leadership; operational management; and instructional leadership. The integration of faith and professional practice is made relevant through pragmatic and project-based learning experiences that prepare candidates to grow as Catholic school leaders.  Certificate coursework also applies towards the M.A. in Educational Leadership, available with an additional 21 graduate level semester units.

The Certificate in Catholic School Administration offers two concurrent cohorts per year.  The local cohort in Los Angeles meets on campus on selected Saturdays with additional synchronous online Saturday class meetings in a hybrid model.  A fully online cohort is also available, with synchonous online meetings on Saturdays.  Additionally, candidates sponsored by Catholic Extension, join the online cohort and may meet on campus for the initial “Invitation to Lead” weekend course and then for synchronous online instruction for the remainder of the coursework.  The additional coursework for the optional M.A. in Educational Leadership is offered online.

Message from the Director

Lauren Casella, Ed.D., director of LMU School of Education’s Catholic Leadership Academy, shares the benefits of LMU’s specialized training for future leaders in Catholic education


*Please be advised that online programs are currently available to permanent residents of the following states: Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Utah, Washington, Wyoming, and international students. State agreements may change periodically so if you don’t see your state listed, please check the LMU State Authorization and Professional Licensure Disclosures site for the most recent updates.